The historic brick house that was the home of celebrated Korean painter Park No-soo (1927–2013) has been transformed into a public museum. Located in Ogin-dong in downtown Seoul’s Jongno district, the residence was completed in 1938 and features a fusion of Korean, Chinese and Western architectural styles of the early 20th century. Park lived there for most of his life and died early this year. In 2011, he donated his private collection of 1,000 artworks and possessions, allowing his home to become a public museum. The artist made a name for himself with controlled colors and simple drawings reinterpreted in a modern way.
EAT>The museum is located in the middle of the traditional village Seochon, which is home to a myriad of small Korean restaurants with unique culinary appeal.
BUY>Flea markets are held in front of Café Sequins every Saturday in Seochon.
SEE>The inaugural exhibition of Park’s 26 paintings will continue until Christmas. Admission is free.
GO>Gyeongbokgung Station 경복궁역 (Line 3) Exit 3